© Celine Junker

Brasserie Balthazar Wittlich

Short facts

  • Wittlich
  • bar/restaurant, non-smoking…
  • lunch, vegetarian cuisine,…
  • (0049)6571 9528500

Located in the building of the former Wittlich post office from the 18th century, the Brasserie Balthazar offers, in addition to the unique historical ambience, a cosy hospitality combined with the relaxed flair of the French way to enjoy.

Situated on the south side of the historic market square, the stately three-story and seven-axis baroque massive building with its height of 20 meters clearly towers above the neighboring houses. After the presumed year of construction of 1725/26, the spacious office and guest rooms, the stables and remises served for over 100 years as a supply station on the mail coach route Trier - Koblenz for the transportation of persons, freight and correspondence. This "postal station" remained in operation until 1854, after which the building was mainly used for residential purposes and as a wholesale grocery store. The reference in a file from 1869 to a "Gasthaus zur Post" in the building, however, also suggests a gastronomic past. Today, the architectural home of the Balthazar Brasserie can be seen in its modern guise. Building on the historical substance, our architects have created an exciting mixture of old charm and modern comfort. Natural, light-colored materials and a generous room layout create a cozy atmosphere in a modern setting with the cosy flair of history

On the map

Marktplatz 3

54516 Wittlich

DE


Phone: (0049)6571 9528500

E-mail:

General information

Openings
Wednesday, 30.11.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Thursday, 01.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Friday, 02.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Saturday, 03.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Sunday, 04.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Monday, 05.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday, 06.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday, 07.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Thursday, 08.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Friday, 09.12.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Daily from 11.30 o'clock am until 11.00 o'clock pm
Holidaythemes
  • Bicycling
  • Hiking
  • Family
  • Culture
  • Wine
  • Groups
  • Barrier free
  • Motorcycle
  • Christmas/New Year's Eve

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© Celine Junker

Brasserie Balthazar Wittlich

Auf einen Blick

  • Wittlich
  • Bar-Restaurant,…
  • Mittagstisch, Vegetarische…
  • (0049)6571 9528500

Im Gebäude der ehemaligen Posthalterei Wittlich aus dem 18. Jahrhundert gelegen, bietet die Brasserie Balthazar neben dem einmaligen historischen Ambiente, eine gemütliche Gastlichkeit, kombiniert mit dem gelassenen Flair der französischen Art zu Genießen.

An der Südseite des historischen Marktplatzes gelegen, überragt der stattliche dreigeschossige und siebenachsige, barocke Massivbau mit seiner Höhe von 20 Metern deutlich die benachbarten Häuser. Nach dem vermuteten Baujahr von 1725/26 fungierten die großzügigen Amts- und Gästezimmer, die Ställe und Remisen über 100 Jahre als Versorgungsstaion der Postwagenroute Trier - Koblenz zur Beförderung von Personen, Fracht und Korrespondenzen. Diese "Posthalterei" blieb bis 1854 in Betrieb, danach wurde das Gebäude hauptsächlich zu Wohnzwecken und als Lebensmittelgroßhandlung genutzt. Der Hinweis einer Akte von 1869 auf ein "Gasthaus zur Post" im Haus, lässt aber auch auf eine gastronomische Vergangenheit schließen. Heute zeigt sich die bauliche Heimat der Brasserie Balthazar im modernen Gewand - historische Substanz, spannende Mischung aus altem Charme und modernem Komfort. Natürliche, helle Materialien und eine großzügige Raumaufteilung schaffen eine behagliche Atmosphäre in modernem Ambiente mit dem gemütlichen Flair der Geschichte.

Auf der Karte

Marktplatz 3

54516 Wittlich

DE


Tel.: (0049)6571 9528500

E-Mail:

Allgemeine Informationen

Öffnungszeiten
Samstag, 24.09.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Sonntag, 25.09.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Montag, 26.09.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Dienstag, 27.09.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Mittwoch, 28.09.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Donnerstag, 29.09.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Freitag, 30.09.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Samstag, 01.10.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Sonntag, 02.10.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Montag, 03.10.2022 11:30 - 23:00
Täglich ab 11.30 Uhr bis 23.00 Uhr

Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.