© Arnoldi

Burglay

  • Minheim

Burglay - a military fortification from late antiquity: In Constantinian times (early 4th century AD), Romans built forts or beacons in sight distance on prominent Moselle hills for the defence of the left banks of the Rhine and the imperial residence in Trier against Germanic tribes.

19 such strategic fortifications were identified between Trier and Koblenz. One was situated at the Burglay slate rock in Minheim. Archaeologists found toolmarks on the rock, scattered slate stones with mortar residue on them, fragments of clay bricks and shards of ceramics which are indicative of a massive construction. A Roman bronze balance weight (4th - 5th century), a statuette of Roman god Mercury (approx. 200 AD) and the fragment of a brick seal (4th century) are among the most important small finds. One of Minheims vineyard sites is named after Burglay fort.

On the map

54518 Minheim

DE


Phone: (0049) 6507 2488

E-mail:

General information

Openings
Monday, 30.01.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 31.01.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 01.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Thursday, 02.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Friday, 03.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Saturday, 04.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Sunday, 05.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Monday, 06.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday, 07.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00
Wednesday, 08.02.2023 00:00 - 00:00

Next steps

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.

© Arnoldi

Burglay

  • Minheim

Burglay - eine spätantike Militärstation: Zur Verteidigung der linksrheinischen Gebiete und der Kaiserresidenz in Trier gegen die Germanen errichteten die Römer in konstantinischer Zeit (frühes 4. Jahrhundert n. Chr.) auf markanten Felsen der Moselhöhen - jeweils in Sichtweite - Militäranlagen bzw. Signalstationen, aus denen sich auch Höhensiedlungen entwickelten.

Zwischen Trier und Koblenz sind 19 dieser Befestigungen nachgewiesen. Am Burglay-Schieferfelsen von Minheim gab es ebenfalls eine derartige Anlage. Archäologen fanden Bearbeitungsspuren im Fels, verstreute Schiefersteine mit Mörtelresten, Tonziegelfragmente und Keramikscherben, die auf eine massive Bauanlage schließen lassen. Zu den bedeutendsten Kleinfunden zählen ein römisches Bronzegewicht (4./5. Jh. n. Chr.), eine Statuette des römischen Gottes Merkur (um 200 n. Chr.) und das Fragment eines Ziegelstempels (4. Jh. n. Chr.). Nach der Burglay ist auch eine Minheimer Einzel-Weinlage benannt.

Auf der Karte

54518 Minheim

DE


Tel.: (0049) 6507 2488

E-Mail:

Webseite: www.bernkastel.de


Was möchtest du als nächstes tun?

Sie benutzen offenbar den Internet Explorer von Microsoft als Webbrowser, um sich unsere Internetseite anzusehen.

Aus Gründen der Funktionalität und Sicherheit empfehlen wir dringend, einen aktuellen Webbrowser wie Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera oder Edge zu nutzen. Der Internet Explorer zeigt nicht alle Inhalte unserer Internetseite korrekt an und bietet nicht alle ihre Funktionen.